Red Neck Wine Tour
Saturday, September 17, 2011

Planned by Josh & Kathryn Butts

Meet at 8:30am: 365 Hwy 46 South, New Braunfels
(This is a big parking lot shared by a Chilis, a Shell station, and a La Quinta)
(see picture)
(get directions)

Drivers Meeting: 8:45am Depart: 9:00am

From New Braunfels, we'll head north along the river for a slow and scenic drive. Then we'll pick up the pace a bit and head northwest towards Blanco along the west side of Canyon lake before turning northward towards Johnson City.

Lunch will be at the newly opened Pecan Street Brewing in Johnson City. (more info)

The menu is available on their website, and their specialties are burgers and brick-oven pizzas. We'll have our pick of the whole menu, and we'll pay a-la-carte at the restaurant.

After lunch we'll take a short drive (roughly 30 minutes) to Hye, TX.

Hye is the home of Garrison Brothers Distillery, "The Best Little Stillhouse in Texas", (more info) the first "legal" bourbon distillery in the state of Texas.

We'll arrive slightly before 2:00pm for a tour of the distillery (lasts about 45 minutes).

Those who are interested will have the opportunity to taste "white dog" (whiskey right off the still). For those with more refined palettes, we’ll also be able to have a sip of the finished product while enjoying the view from the barrel barn.

The tour and tasting fee at Garrison Brothers is $10 per car.

Who attended

Year Model Lunch
Year Model Lunch
Doug Beck 2008 550i - Paul Goldfine 2011 128i 1
Don & Esther Bishop 2007 Z4 Cpe 2 Alan & Jan Greene 2011 128i 2
Ken Booth 2000 750iL 2 Bill & Wendy Hoch 2007 Z4 2
Scott & Helen Bowman 2011 1M 2 John Hughan 2011 M3 2
Rob & Jill Brown 2006 330CiC 2 Antonio Jajou 1999 M Cpe 2
Josh & Kathryn Butts 2006 M Rdstr 2 Bill Lewis 2003 Z4 2
Ken Carson & Connie Stried 1999 M Rdstr 2 Herb Looney 2006 M3 1
Linda Cavazos 2011 135i 1 Glenn & Sandy McConnell 2001 Z3 2
Eric & Roni Chang 2003 330i 2 Johnny & Shearon Mitchell 1999 M Cpe 2
Linda Cook 2006 M Rdstr 1 Steve Pedersen 2001 M Rdstr 2
Tim Cook 2000 M Rdstr 1 Al & Angel Ridgley 1987 325i 2
Marco & Mary Beth Cordon 2007 Z4 2 Joe & Kitty Robertson 2003 325i 2
Tom & Gay Dawson 2010 Z4 2 Mike & Jean Sevel 2003 Z4 2
Ben Eckermann 2008 335i 2 James Shaw 2003 330Ci 2
Fred Egloff 1992 318i 2 Michael Sun 2011 M3 2
Allan Gazza 2008 135i 1 Roger Williams 2000 M Rdstr 1
Dennis Geyer 2008 M6 2 Don & Susan Yule 2008 335i cv 2
        Total 34 59